Book Prize

The International Political Economy working group of the British International Studies Association is one of the largest and most active working groups in BISA and as such is a very prominent part of international studies research in the UK. However, this does not give the full picture, for IPEG membership is drawn from all over the globe. Therefore, it is a highly significant forum for IPE scholars wherever they are in the world.

IPEG awards a book prize every year for a monograph published in the previous calendar year. The prize is the defining award in IPE, and as such carries enormous prestige and profile well beyond the UK. There are two key reasons for this prestige: (1) the nominations for the longlist and the voting for the shortlist are an open and democratic processes, meaning that it is a highly impressive achievement for a book to make it to the shortlist; (2) the 4 shortlisted books are read by the 6 Book Prize judges, who – in an equally open and democratic manner – subsequently vote and deliberate on the winner.

The criteria guiding the verdicts and votes of the Book Prize judges include: conceptual innovations; empirical analysis; contribution to IPE as a discipline; contribution/connection to broader social science literatures; clarity of exposition; quality of the argument. Of course, such criteria will not apply to all books in the same way, and in this sense this is more of a guide than a template. Nevertheless, it is intended to facilitate the judges’ votes and deliberations.

Therefore, this process combines membership participation and expert judgements on the book’s quality. The pedigree of the previous winners is beyond doubt, and their monographs receive a significant amount of publicity and sales as a result. As such, the IPEG Book Prize has become a notable event and mark of status within and beyond IPE, and this is also shown via the generous support (in the form of book vouchers available to the winner) given by a number of publishing companies.

2016 Competition

The 2016 Competition is now completed! See you in 2017.

Update 08/11: The winner has been announced! Congratulations to Alex Anievas and Kerem Nisancioglu. The press release is here.

Update 30/04: The longlist has been announced and shortlist voting is open! See the post on the IPEG mailing list for the list of titles and instructions on how to cast your vote.

Update 19/05: the shortlist is now decided! The books are:

Alex Anievas, Kerem Nisancioglu (2015) How the West Came to Rule: The Geopolitical Origins of Capitalism (Pluto)
Jason W. Moore (2015) Capitalism in the Web of Life: Ecology and the Accumulation of Capital (Verso)
Martijn Konings (2015) The Emotional Logic of Capitalism: What Progressives Have Missed (Stanford University Press)
Owen Worth (2015) Rethinking Hegemony (Palgrave)
Paul Langley (2015) Liquidity Lost (OUP)

The judges will now commence reading and evaluating the books ahead of the IPEG conference in October.

The Voting Panel

The current voting panel are:

Holly Snaith, University of Copenhagen (Chair)
Angela Wigger, Radboud Universitiet Nijmegen
Phil Cerny, Rutgers University
Aida Hozic, University of Florida
Alexander Nunn, Leeds Beckett University (IPEG Convenor)
Slawomir Raszewski, Kings College London (IPEG Convenor)

Please see the links below to each year’s winner for more information about previous panel compositions.

The Process

In March, the longlisting process is announced via the IPEG mailing list. There are five conditions that need to be fulfilled in order to nominate a book:

  • (i) the book must have been published in the previous calendar year;
  • (ii) you cannot nominate your own book;
  • (iii) the book cannot be an edited volume;
  • (iv) only one book can be nominated;
  • (v) the person nominating the book must be a member of IPEG.

Submissions should be sent to the Chair of the panel by email (see the contact page for details). After approximately three weeks, in April, the long listing process is closed, and the candidates are announced to the mailing list for shortlisting.

Shortlist voting lasts for approximately three weeks. You can vote for up to three books on the longlist: a score of 1 equating to 3 points for the book; a score of 2 equating to 2 points; and a score of 3 equating to 1 point. Members should wherever possible vote for three books and not two or one. Those whose books are on the longlist are also free to vote for themselves (as in any election).

After the shortlist is closed in May, the judges read the books and begin deliberations in September. The voting process involves both quantitative and qualitative rankings, and results in a collective announcement of the prize in October.

Past Awardees

Please click on the links for further information about the process and other shortlisted authors. Many thanks to former Convenors Chris May and Adam David Morton for their help compiling this information.

2016 – Alex Anievas and Kerem Nisancioglu, How the West Came to Rule: The Geopolitical Origins of Capitalism (Pluto, 2015)

2015 – Susanne Soederberg, Debtfare States and the Poverty Industry: Money, Discipline and the Surplus Population (Routledge, 2014)

2014 – Samuel Knafo, The Making of Modern Finance: Liberal Governance and the Gold Standard (Routledge, 2013)

2013 – Jacqui True, The Political Economy of Violence Against Women (Oxford University Press, 2012)

2012 – Adam David Morton, Revolution and State in Modern Mexico: The Political Economy of Uneven Development (Rowman & Littlefield, 2011)

2011 – Jamie Peck, Constructions of Neoliberal Reason (Oxford University Press, 2010)

2010 – Penny Griffin, Gendering the World Bank: Neoliberalism and the Gendered Foundations of Global Governance (Palgrave, 2009)

2009 – William Robinson, Latin America and Global Capitalism: A Critical Globalization Perspective (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2008)

2008 – Matthew Paterson, Automobile Politics: Ecology and Cultural Political Economy (Cambridge University Press, 2007)

2007 – Donald MacKenzie, An Engine, Not a Camera: How Financial Models Shape Markets (MIT Press, 2006)

2006 – Graham Harrison, The World Bank and Africa: The Construction of Governance States (Routledge, 2004)